The Performance

Concertmaster Stephen Sitarski performs the virtuosic solo of Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, offering a rhythmic, Argentinian flare in a reinterpretation of the work’s namesake. Gabriela Lena Frank’s Elegía Andina draws on sounds from the composer’s multicultural background, while *20-21 Composer Fellow Arie Verheul van de Ven’s Lithification finds inspiration in the geological history of the Niagara Escarpment. Ginastera’s Variaciones Concerantes lends drama and passion, highlighting the colours and expressive power of each section within our orchestra. 


Concert Program

  • Gabriela Lena Frank: Elegía Andina
  • Piazzolla (arr. Desyatnikov): The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires
  • Arie Verheul van de Ven*: Lithification
  • Ginastera : Variaciones Concertantes